Healthy breakfast series – Banana porridge

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, helping your body wake up from slumber and get its fill of energy for the day day ahead, but it’s also the most overlooked. How often do we just skip it, because we are running late or ran out of milk or bread? How many times do we fill up on unhealthy snacks, because our breakfast wasn’t nutritious enough?images

In my house, anything goes for breakfast: eggs, pancakes and French crêpes, semolina harcha (semolina flatbread), yoghurt and smoothies…The list is endless, and it is the one time of the day when I don’t really pay attention to calories. In fact, my breakfast is often starchy ! But again, this is what is needed to fill you up until lunch and keep you concentrated through an active day. I draw the line at one thing: no breakfast cereals in this house. EVER. I do have muesli from time to time, but I never buy the Kellogs type, laden with sugar, additives and GMO corn. In fact, I don’t think my kids ever tried them, and they are certainly not missing out.

Now porridge is one of my daughter’s favourite breakfast food, and it is also the quickest, easiest, cheapest and most versatile. When I first moved to the UK, you wouldn’t have caught me tasting the gloopy looking think, but surprisingly I have to say I got used to it, and dare I say, I now quite enjoy my morning bowl of warm porridge. You can easily jazz it up with fruits, seeds, compote and jams, and it only takes a few minutes to make up! Here is today’s offering:

My morning banana porridge
My morning banana porridge

Recipe is: + one cup of hot milk (organic cow milk but I recommend almond or oats milk for lactose intolerance) poured over a small bowl of wholemeal rolled oats, then left to cook.

+ half a banana cut up in slices

+ a teaspoon of raw honey (I use Lavender honey from a UK based company called Bee Mercy, which is absolutely delicious and will ward off colds in the winter)

+ A teaspoon of golden linseeds, to add a bit of crunch and because they are packed with Omega 3 acids.

Job done!

Leave a Reply

