A great organic lip balm for the cold days!

Salaam alaykoum, Peace be upon you all!

I made myself a batch of mandarin lip balm this week, and since I’m very satisfied with it, I am going to share the recipe! It’s very very easy (once you have sourced all the ingredients), and it keeps my lips soft and moisturised in the freezing weather. No chapped lips for me this year inshallah! I even use it on my face as I have a sensitive skin, and I get red dry patches because of the cold.

Anyway, enough talking, let’s get cooking! This recipe will make about 100ml of lip balm, so I got 10 little tips of 10ml each. You will need the following ingredients, preferably organic:

15g Yellow beeswax

50ml Apricot Kernel Oil

15g Cocoa Butter

25g Shea Butter

Just mix everything in a glass jug and cook in a Bain-marie ( which means place it into a pan of boiling water), and wait until it has melted into a liquid before taking it out of the fire. You can also do in the microwave, but it’s more fun to do it this way! 

Image
My little tins cooling down!

You can then add essential oils of your choice: I used Tea Tree oil because of its antiseptic qualities (about 20 drops) and Mandarin (about 40 drops) for its soothing and uplifting qualities, and because of its great smell. Mix with a spoon and pour into your containers before it cools down.

Done!

You can easily modify the recipe according to your needs: divide by ten if you only need one tin of lip balm, replace the Apricot Kernel oil by Almond oil if it is easier to find, or use 40g of Shea butter instead of using two different kinds. You can also use Mango butter which is very moisturising and a good anti-wrinkle.

My finished little products, ready to be used!
My finished little products, ready to be used!

A word of caution: I completely understand that you people are busy and don’t necessarily have the time to make your own gorgeous, precious, organic lip balm  when you could just pop in your local supermarket and get a cheap lipstick. The problem is that most of what you will find will actually dry out your lips even more rather than moisturising and soothing chapped lips. That’s because they prevent the air from passing, and because some ingredients such as alcohol, menthol and petroleum are aggressive for the skin. So please check the ingredients before you hand your money!

One thought on “A great organic lip balm for the cold days!

  1. Hello! I just wish to give you a big thumbs up for the excellent
    info you have got right here on this post. I will be coming back to
    your blog for more soon.

Leave a Reply

